Common mistakes high school students make on A+ and methods of encouragement.

T.S. Culbreath

Sep 14, 2022
Hello Forum,

Good afternoon. Apologies if this question has already been asked, I am still learning the setup. We will be starting our certification course this spring. Our students will be high schoolers (Juniors and Seniors). My question is for anyone who has worked with this age group before. What are some common mistakes you have noticed your students make with the A+ certification? What are some ways you encourage your students to take the course AND complete the certification?

My Best,
T.S.

jgoodrich

• Jun 23, 2020
    Lansing, Michigan
    It is my opinion, that you should start them off with the CompTIA ITF. The main reason for this is that there is a lot of new terms and vocabulary that they have never seen. They also have no experience taking an industry certification. The CompTIA ITF can be administered in the classroom and you can show them how a test looks like without wasting the money on the A+.

Remember that the A+ is meant for a person with 9-12 months on the job time. "CompTIA A+ is for professionals looking to start a career in IT and have 9 to 12 months of hands-on experience in the lab or field or equivalent training."

Also even with the new test, It test some "older" tech. Granted the 1101 and 1102 is "updated" in the last year but there is always going to be a delay. I know there are "boot camps" and other classes that push for a pass on the first time on theA+ but I think starting 11th and 12th graders off on demanding they pass the A+ (1101 and 1102) is a lot. I have taught at both the high school level and community college levels. Having students doing all the work not passing. Some high school students have real issues with just the ITF+. Yes, you will have some students that can pass it but the majority will pass the 1101 and fail 1102.