Continuing Education

Rick Riddle

Jan 22, 2021
Does completing the Train the Trainer for the new version of a Certification cover Continuing Education requirements? I have a CISSP but the Comptia continuing education seems much more difficult to understand how to meet requirements. I am a full time IT Professional and I also teach college classes Comptia Security +, Palo Alto EDU 210, and coming soon Cisco Cyber Ops.

Reactions: Sivanesan

Rick Butler

• Aug 8, 2019
    Colorado Springs, CO
    www.intellitec.edu
    Does completing the Train the Trainer for the new version of a Certification cover Continuing Education requirements? I have a CISSP but the Comptia continuing education seems much more difficult to understand how to meet requirements. I am a full time IT Professional and I also teach college classes Comptia Security +, Palo Alto EDU 210, and coming soon Cisco Cyber Ops.
    Hello Rick (great name, btw!):

So yes, attending TTT does provide credit that you can use for the CompTIA CE program. I can't speak to other providers; you'd have to check.

If you look at a standard participation certificate, you'll see the certs for which a TTT will apply. For example, DataSys+ provides 1 CEU per hour for A+ and Cloud+. Remember that you have to be enrolled in the CompTIA CEU program (yearly dues requirement) to submit CEUs for renewal. It's a combination of activities that will get you there. And yes, if you take the TTT for a cert, it will count for CEUs towards renewing that particular cert as well.

Remember that with CompTIA, taking a cert test updates lower certs. For example, if you pass the Sec+, you'll renew for the Net+ and A+. The CEU program guides should provide more info on what certs renew for what.

HTH

/r

There are many pathways to renew CompTIA certs.
    - complete a training course (i.e. train-the-trainer sessions)
    - via CompTIA CertMaster
    - via higher CompTIA certs
    - via non-CompTIA IT-related certs