Locally-Hosted Labs versus Virtual Labs

Becky Mann

Staff member
Hi everyone. I'm a product developer for CompTIA's training products. We're currently doing research on how labs are implemented in various training programs. Currently, our instructor guides come with directions on how to set up computers in the classroom in order to run the lab activities. We also offer a separate product, CompTIA Labs, that can be used in conjunction with the guides to run the lab activities through a virtual lab platform, Learn on Demand Systems.

How are labs run in your organization? Do you use a virtual lab platform like Learn on Demand or do you use locally-hosted machines? What are the benefits and drawbacks to your current setup?

Solution
I have seen a few variants.

SANS and a few other security classes I've joined pass out USB drives to each student, that come pre-filled wth one or more virtual machines, compatible with the most common virtualization platforms. They also warn students up front, multiple times before class, that they need to setup something like VMWare Player on their laptops and that they need to test it beforehand.

PRO: branded USB sticks as goodie, no downloads needed (and thus no bandwidth load)
CON: takes an upfront investment of having the USB drives prepared in bulk (and updated in case of changes).

===

Others take the VM-approach, but rely upon tools like Vagrant to build the VM on-site, on-the-fly.

PRO: updates to the labs are easy, just...
Currently at BluescreenIT we use labs locally built-in house, but there has been some occasions now that we've used the virtual labs. Depends on how the course is being run and if the trainer requests the online labs. It's nice to we have the online labs just incase a build doesn't go to plan or runs behind due to other commitments.