Thoughts on IOT Lab Series

The Spring semester is history (grades in) and I'm scaling back from teaching, slipping into retirement. But as most of you know, I'm not very good at doing nothing. Below are the links for the first two articles in a series of articles that I think would ultimately lead to a series of labs that could benefit students and be completed on their SOHO wireless networks at a minimum cost (equipment is around $50) that will result in substantial savings on their electricity bill.

https://www.emporiaenergy.com/blog/managing-electrical-energy-costs-with-tou-limitations

https://www.emporiaenergy.com/blog/...cisions-on-time-of-use-electrical-consumption

Because of the large amount of valuable data being collected in this home project, it provides the opportunity for students to gain a general understanding of why machine learning makes sense and how, through the development of relatively simple coding, to automatically decide on where and when to toggle smart plugs and switches. This will be the focus of my next article.

The 4th article will focus on security techniques associated with isolating this network of IOT devices from my standard home network equipment since it is reasonable to assume these $10 smart plugs and other IOT devices were not built with security as a primary concern.

What makes this series of labs additionally appealing is the potential for reduced energy bills and the ecological benefit associated with the reduction of energy consumption.

Retirement now provides the opportunity to focus on these sort of "geekish experiments" that provide practical solutions to real-world problems. I'd appreciate your thoughts on this idea.

Thanks,

Steve

Tess Sluijter

Apr 1, 2020
the Netherlands
www.kilala.nl