How long do you take to prepare for exams?

I was reading in an online forum about preparing for exams. I saw several students who mentioned they spent months preparing for certification exams. One student mentioned that he spent three months preparing for the ITF+ exam. Another student mentioned that he averaged six months per exam. Still another stated that he studied for nine months for his first exam.

Granted, I've got 25+ years of experience and have passed four versions of A+, four versions of Net+, four versions of Sec+, and two versions of CySA+ and currently have all but two of the current CompTIA certs. My first CompTIA cert was IT Project+ (now Project+). My supervisor offered me a bonus if I could pass the exam in a week and teach it the following week. I studied like crazy and passed the exam on the first try and did teach it the following week. I don't think I've ever studied for any exam longer than a few weeks. I think I spent three weeks total studying for both the PenTest+ and CASP+ combined. I spent a week studying for my CISM. I passed seven Microsoft exams to get my MCSE in two and a half months. No brain dumps, boot camps, or practice exams either. Just "nose to the grindstone" studying. I don't usually do any labs while preparing because I tend to do lab work all the time anyway.

I know that everyone has different levels of experience and every exam is different. There are a lot of variables that go into preparing for exams.

How long, on average, do you spend preparing for new certifications? How long do you spend preparing for recertifying in certs you've already earned before?

How long, on average, do you spend preparing for new certifications? How long do you spend preparing for recertifying in certs you've already earned before?
Time to take off the fedora - this is some real Rick Butler for you...