Will taking the new A+ 1101 & 1102 jeopardize my 2028 expiration date?

mviola859

Jul 10, 2022
Hello everyone,

I have already passes CompTIA Security + 601 and Linux + XK0-005. Doing so has extended my A+ certification expiration date out to 2028.
If I go and pass the new 1101 and 1102 does that nullify my 2028 expiration date and only extend my A+ out three years from now?
Let me know if you need further clarification.

Thank you,
Mike

mviola859

Jul 10, 2022
Mark,

I'm an instructor for CompTIA certifications and even though I have achieved all the certs, I
have to stay current with the new ones. Make sense? This is why I asked my original question.

Do you know if it will nullify my A+ certification that has been extended out to 2028?

Thank you,
Mike

Walt Jaqua

Aug 16, 2019
Plymouth, Indiana
Why are you investing time and energy in the A+, when the next step up is Security+ and you have achieved that?
As an instructor, it is vital to take current exams for all courses you are teaching. Taking an exam, from an instructors perspective, is not just about being certified, it's about being aware of what the exam covers, how the questions have evolved over time, how the exams cover the objectives. This is crucial for instructing others on the content. Not passing answers that appear on the exam- that should be frowned on by everyone. But rather just to be informed in better guiding our delivery of content, labs, hands-on, practice questions, etc.

I've taken the A+, Net+, and Sec+ four times and the Project+ and CySA+ twice. Honestly, the exams don't change radically from one version to the next. I'll take them if an employer requires it but I don't see a lot of value in spending that much money when I can just renew my highest level cert with CEUs and renew all the rest.

Reactions: Fanuel

Jill West

• Sep 13, 2019
    Dalton, GA